comment 0

Walking through January

As mentioned in my about page, I have decided to ditch the traditional 12 month resolutions in favor of 12 one month resolutions. These are my targets. I try to incorporate them into my for that month and at the end go back to see how it went. Flash back to January 1st trip. I realized I need to make a change.

As Paul Angone, author of All Groan Up said, “The Freshman-Fifteen is nothing compared to the Cubicle-Cincuenta.” Words never rung truer. Now having a sedentary post-college office job, I did not like the weight that was being put on. So January would be all about health. The goal was to try to get 10,000 steps in per day.

Note: Key here being try to get 10,000 step in, not actually get them in.

This is very important because so many people create lofty goals and then kick themselves when they don’t achieve them. Cough… cough*New Years Resolutions*cough*cough* In order to combat that, I made little changes to my daily lifestyle and it worked out beautifully.

Volunteering to run office errands.

There are always errands to be ran in the office, and of course no one wants to run them. Who in their right mind wants to walk around to different buildings or floors, in high heels when they could be doing “more important” work in the office? No one really. So it was not exactly like I had to fight someone to get these tasks.

Taking my dog for weekend walks.

For me, Sunday’s is not exactly, lazy Sunday because I attend a midday service that I dress up for. I’m involved in the music and usually chat with friends afterwards. Once everyone has left my family has a tradition of going out to each for a Sunday afternoon lunch, then typically we come home and can relax, doing our own things. This day I was not getting anywhere near my 10,000 steps. So I decided to change to walking cloths, and take Mr. Chester (yes, my miniature poodle is named Mr. Chester) for a Sunday evening stroll. It was a win win for us both because he could run free and I could be alone with my thoughts and prayers while watching gorgeous sunsets!

Reflection of January Resolution

Just with these two changes, my steps started accumulating. I hit 10,000 a few times, but on average reached between 800-900 steps per day. The extra health made me feel great about myself (not sure if it was a placebo affect or not) & my Sunday walks easily became my favorite time of the week.

Conclusion: Yeah, I wanted to continue this as much as I could even though it would no longer be a monthly goal. Only thing is, I need to find more comfortable high heels for work.

Photo credit this week going to this page.

Leave a comment